News

What’s Happening Now…

I wanted to apologise for the post that went out earlier today.  I was trying to schedule some posts to go out this week and planned to write up a post in reply to all the wonderful support I got on my last blog post but hit the ‘Publish’ button instead of schedule!

I wanted to thank everyone for all your support.  I’m sorry I took the entire weekend off so didn’t reply to anyone except briefly to some people on facebook.  This whole issue around my blog has been really stressing me out lately as most of you know.  I have really been considering closing down my blog too – that’s how bad I’ve felt.

This whole blog has recently been treated more like a service for authors than a place for readers to enjoy book reviews and it’s this constant ‘service’ feeling that’s made me question whether I should keep this blog running or not.  I’m still not sure to be honest.  There are a lot of wonderful bloggers and readers out there who have supported me through this, but many authors (perhaps well meaning) have made me feel as if I’m only here to do a service to them, interested in the blog for only my ability to write a review rather than reading/following for the sake of enjoyment.  Even now I’ve still been receiving review requests and requests for spotlights and cover reveals from authors who I’ve never heard of and who clearly ignore the fact I’m closed to reviewing.  I’ve even been offered books that are clearly not the genres I ever read.  It doesn’t take much to be courteous and read someone’s blog details or a blog post or two to see that someone isn’t coping.

I will be taking a break from the blog.  I have some left over reviews I never put out that I will post this week.  I took on far too many books and my circumstances have chanced since I took the books on for review.  I will send out emails to all the authors I have promised to review for and as you have all advised, the good authors will understand and I cannot worry about those that do not.

I am still making decisions on what to do with my blogging life, but I haven’t decided yet.  I hope that I can put away the stress this week an maybe I’ll start to feel better.

12 thoughts on “What’s Happening Now…

  1. The service thing is terrible, because, you know, I enjoy putting together my blog, and reading books, and helping authors out, and I also enjoy getting to know the authors, and hopefully build up a connection. The authors that ask for a review, and come, and go, is sad for me. I’ve been letting my email inbox go at the moment, because I get so many requests, and saying no is difficult! I think a time out is definitely always best, and then maybe coming back, and doing things at your own pace. Maybe just do what you feel like, and then stuff the rest. I do hope you return though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I missed your FB post, apologies, otherwise I’d have offered my support, I took a break from blogging and social media myself over the weekend and yesterday, we all need a break at times.

    I agree, if the authors are decent then they will accept that you can’t review their book, if not, it’s too bad, there’ll just have to deal with it, your health and how you feel comes first.

    You’re so right about authors thinking of us as a service, a lot don’t and are great but unfortunately a lot do, and it’s wrong, we are people before we are bloggers, I’m not surprised that you are getting requests still even after closing your blog to review requests, I do to and it’s damn annoying! I don’t respond anymore, it might be considered rude, but if they can’t be bothered to read my review policy then why should I bother to reply, bloggers are not here as a free service to authors, maybe we need to start a new hashtag #bloggersarepeopleto

    I hope you come to a decision on what you want to do with your blog and that it’s the right one for you, you’re a cool blogger with a great blog who’ll be missed, but if you’re not enjoying blogging, then what’s left when the enjoyment is gone?

    Best wishes whatever you decide, you and your health are more important than the blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your support, I really appreciate it and sorry you’re having such a hard time yourself, I haven’t had the chance to catch up with many blogs either given all that’s been happening. It seems a lot of bloggers are going through similar things at the moment. Rather than that hashtag though maybe we should start a #bloggersareauthorstoo! I mean we’re authors of the reviews and blog posts we write and I can’t help but feel that so may authors not only view us as a service but also as lesser people because they thing we’re mere readers and they are some prolific great person just because the published a book. Of course it’s not the good authors I’m talking about just those I’ve had the immense displeasure of ‘meeting’. I hope you feel better soon yourself. I have some ideas on what to do with blogging and regardless of whether I continue here or not I’d like to stay in touch. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s very true, lots of people do seem to be feeling this way at the moment, I wrote a post, Jaded by Blogging, not a very creative title.lol but loads of people commented and seemed to feel/or have felt the same way about blogging at times.

        I don’t think of myself as a writer, but saying that we do write our posts, so we do write.lol And my Jaded by Blogging post was 3,700 words, that is long, guess that makes me a writer!😂

        True, it’s not the good authors, and most are, but when you deal with a few who aren’t or just seem like and come across as they are doing us a favour, it’s a two way thing, not authors are better than us, we’re all just people.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Cat , Here is a thought. It is a bit tough , but hear me out. Create a guideline of what you review and dont. I know you have one on your blog. But, as you know they aint reading. So when you get a request for a review. Send them that guideline that are the rules for reviews or non reviews.. explain your ethos in the guideline. If they fail to read that and pester still learn to ignore and dont take it personally. And move on…

    Or change your blog to be poetry and the occassional review.

    Dont stop just because your guidelines are being followed. If they dont follow or respect you have no obligation… you do all this for free. You stick to your rules get tough skinned and dont take it personally.

    It like the london underground.. i always have some so and so pretend not to see me and push in. Somedays i am no way ypur not ..and i push in…and somedays i say it aint worth ny peace.

    Choose your battles and forget the rest.

    Or just do a poetry blog and just keep the review blog on hold for as long as it takes for you to feel better.

    Never do something that impacts your health..but never rush into a decision..let the answer come to you…while you take a break…

    Please do try the meditations on my blog and do have a break..

    I hope i make sense… hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You make perfect sense, thank you so much for the advice I will give it a good think over and relax ❤ Thank you for being such a great friend and you're right, health is more important than this and I shouldn't do anything to make my healthworse ❤ ❤ Thank you and hugs to you too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you can find a way to balance out the blog situation. Saying no to an author or publicist is not easy, but must be done on occasion. I hope you. An fine fine he joy that seems to have been drained. Write for you. Write what makes you happy and share if you want. Perhaps writing out of the public eye is necessary. Find your joy. That is more important than blogging. I hope you recapture your joy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

