Interviews & Giveaways

The Door Keeper Blog Tour: Interview with Author Steen Jones

img_0435

Today I am pleased to announce I am once again taking part in The Door Keeper Blog Tour and have an interview with the author of this great book Steen Jones!  I’ve already reviewed The Door Keeper as part of the blog tour and after thoroughly enjoying it I wanted to find out more about the author.  As well as an interview below there are also a couple of giveaways happening so please stay tuned and keep scrolling down!  First the interview! 🙂

1. What was the inspiration for The Door Keeper?
 The idea for this book came from a real door that I saw on a regular basis. About 7 or 8 years ago, I noticed a door on the edge of a field close to where I lived at the time. It was a freestanding door that lead seemingly nowhere, but of course with my imagination, I immediately decided it went to Narnia. Every time I drove by it, I’d add a little something to the story in my mind, then would forget about it again. Finally, I jotted some notes in my phone and over the next few years, the story developed into a different version than what it is today. Just in case you were wondering, the door is no longer where it originally was, because it now is in my backyard! (Great story for another time.)
2. The book focusses on Italy and the descriptions are so vivid, did you have personal experience with the place and if so what’s your favourite part? (if not would you like to go?)
 I wish I have been there! I’ve been wanting to go to Italy for as long as I remember, and only a few years ago discovered the coastal city of Positano. In answer to your question, I have detailed and planned an extensive 10 day trip to Italy starting in Venice, traveling through Tuscany and ending in Positano. One day, my husband and I will take that trip.

3. Did you do a lot of research for this novel?

I did a ton of research. I wanted the parts of the novel that took place in this world to be as real as possible, so I used actual places. All of the sights you read about in Italy and Georgia actually exist, so I wanted to do these places justice. Also, I found myself researching herbs, flowers, and medicinal properties a decent amount when writing parts about other worlds.

5. The worlds that are visited in the book are really well imagined, was it easy or difficult to come up with so many original places?

Thank you! I would definitely say that some parts were easier than others. Most of the worlds I have created began from a single inspiration. With out giving too much away, Caelum was sparked from my sitting on the beach and watching an unusual set of waves flowing into each other. World building is absolutely one of my favorite parts of writing, day dreaming and imagination are part of my life long strengths.

6. You decided to publish your book with Royal James publishing. Have you had any problems with the publishing process and what made you choose this method of publishing?

I decided to publish with Royal James because they are a smaller start up business. I loved the idea of being a collaborator in the process rather than have my hands tied with a larger publisher and I knew this way would give me a better chance with that. I wasn’t scared of the “start up” part because I’ve worked with start up over the last 5 years and I know that no one works harder or has more to prove. There is of course trial and error with a starter business because you have to learn the best way to do things, but I have to say that working with Royal James has been worth it! They have allowed me to be a part of the process, from designing the cover to the Blog Tour and hosting giveaways.

7. Are you working on anything new or taking some time off?

I’m excitedly working on the sequel to The Door Keeper!

8. Does anyone inspire your writing?

I would absolutely say that my family inspires my writing. The door may have inspired the fantasy side of the story, but my family and our unique trials of life inspired the relational story of The Door Keeper. They also helped serve as inspirations for many of my characters.

9. Do you have any favourite book(s)/ author(s)?

I love C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien. (I’m obsessed that these two were friends.) I also like Rick Riordan, he is so gifted with intertwining mythology and the modern world. I am currently reading the Harry Potter series for the first time, so J.K. Rowling is blowing my mind.

10. Any advice for new and aspiring authors?

I still consider myself new and aspiring. 🙂 But, as far as advice in general, I’d say that patience is the most important aspect of following your dreams, no matter what they are. It’s the toughest thing to learn and everyone wants it, but no one wants to learn it.

Some fun questions:

11. Cats, dogs, meerkats, nothing or something else?

Absolutely dogs. I have a beagle and a bassador. (Half basset hound and half lab. He looks like a white dragon.)

13. As a British tea drinker I’m always curious: Tea, coffee or something else?

Coffee every morning, but every now and again I enjoy a cup of exotic tea with honey in the evenings.

14. If you could live in any book which would it be and why?

It sounds corny, but The Door Keeper. I adore the idea of being able to cross worlds. Although, who knows…maybe the doors do exist and we are ALL currently living in it.

Thank you so much for your time Steen! 🙂

About the Author:

steenportrait

WEBSITE/FACEBOOK/TWITTER/INSTAGRAM

Steen was born and raised in Woodstock, Georgia. While she has only recently discovered her passion for writing, she has always been an artist and a storyteller. A couple of years ago, a story idea gripped her and wouldn’t let go until she wrote it all down. The Door Keeper is her debut novel and she can’t wait to pursue all of the other stories that have built up in her over the last three and a half decades.

When she isn’t writing, reading, painting, or baking, Steen enjoys spending time Netflixing with her husband and playing in the pool with her two children at their North Georgia home. To read more about Steen, you can visit her on her website.

About the Book (Released 20th February in both digital and paperback!):

screen-shot-2016-11-18-at-3-04-45-pm

Adventure. Love. Destiny.

Single mom Eden Saunders has learned that tragedy is simply a part of life. Her mother died during childbirth, and her husband was killed just three years after they married. On a journey to discover where she comes from, Eden inherits the key to unlocking new worlds from her deceased mother—including the world that should have been her home. The only thing stopping her from exploring them is the fear of leaving her daughter behind. Caught up in the circle of legacy, Eden discovers the mother-daughter bond that even death cannot break.

In discovering where she truly came from, Eden inherits a key from her deceased mother that opens doors to different worlds beyond her imagination, including the world that should have been her home. The only thing stopping her from exploring them is the fear of leaving her own daughter behind. The Door Keeper explores the circle of mother/daughter legacies, and the bond that unites them; a bond that even death can not break.

Buy the Book:

Buy from Amazon US

Buy from Amazon UK

Buy from Smashwords

See book on Goodreads!

img_0493

There are two giveaways in celebration of the release of,  The Door Keeper by Steen Jones. One hosted by Royal James Publishing and one by the author Steen Jones.

The first giveaway, hosted by Royal James Publishing, will run from now until the release of the novel.

Click here  or visit Royal James Publishing’s Facebook page to enter to win a signed copy of, The Door Keeper by Steen Jones and a $20 Amazon gift card.

The second giveaway will start on the release date, more details about this giveaway to be released soon.

2 thoughts on “The Door Keeper Blog Tour: Interview with Author Steen Jones

Leave a Reply

