Book Reviews

Review: The Vets at Hope Green (Part Two) – Follow Your Heart by Sheila Norton

vets-at-hope-green-2

I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley and the publisher Ebury Press.  This is the second book in The Vets at Hope Green, a light hearted series.  A review of part one called Escape to the Country can be read here.  This is part two Follow Your Heart which continues this lovely series, here is my review.

Back in London Sam is torn between her job, which she loves, her boyfriend, her friends, and her idyllic life back in Hope Green. With tensions mounting between Sam and Adam, and a poor little kitten in need of help, Sam’s about to make a very important decision.

‘Follow Your Heart’ is the second part of ‘The Vets at Hope Green’, a book which has been split into four parts. The first part of this book introduced us to Sam, a woman who loves working at a vets clinic in London but takes the chance to visit her Nana in the country village of Hope Green. We were introduced to some of the characters and a great story beginning to unfold, but I was also left wondering if I wanted to continue on with the series. I’m pleased to say part two has really hooked me into the series.

In this second book the story of Sam continues as she spends some time in London and goes visiting Hope Green again. I won’t go into details about what happens as I don’t want to spoil the plot for those who have yet to read part one, but the whole plot becomes far more interesting and all the same characters are back. I am really enjoying the tension between Joe and Sam as well as the overall relationships developing between certain characters.

The whole story has a great feel to it and I love the constant inclusion of animals in the plot, especially the focus on cats in this part of the series (I love cats). There are some funny moments in the story, I even laughed aloud during one of the exchanges between Sam and Joe, and although there is once again a predictable feel to the story, the mini plot focusing on the kitten was of course very predictable, it still feels like a great book to read as the whole story is well written and the characters are nicely developed.

There is nothing offensive at all in this book and there is an amazing cliffhanger moment at the end which has hooked me into reading the rest of this series. I usually don’t like cliffhanger endings, but seeing as part three is released in just over a month’s time I don’t mind as it’s not too long to wait. I don’t know how the whole series will turn out but I’m definitely enjoying it and would so far recommend it, the only criticism I have is that if you leave too long between reading parts one and two you might forget who some of the people are as they aren’t re-introduced but just continue with the story. I can’t wait for part three!

Rating: 5/5

Review published on Goodreads, click here

Author’s website: https://www.sheilanorton.com/

Book Description:

PART TWO of a heartwarming and inspiring story about living the simple life and the joy of animals. Perfect for fans of Appleby Farm, Ivy Lane and Alfie the Doorstep Cat

Working as the receptionist at her local London vets, Sam dreams of escaping to a quieter life in the country. Spending time with her Nana and her lovely but elderly dog Rufus has sparked something within Sam, and all she wants is to start afresh. But her boyfriend Adam is in London, and something tells her that it won’t be an easy conversation.

But then something happens that makes her going-nowhere receptionist job seem much more appealing: she finds a little stray cat called Ebony, in need of love and nurturing back to health. Faced with a dilemma, she must choose between her heart’s desire and the little ball of fluff burrowing her way into Sam’s heart…

Is it possible to have it all?

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Review: The Vets at Hope Green (Part Two) – Follow Your Heart by Sheila Norton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s