Book Reviews

Review: The Vets at Hope Green (Part One) – Escape to the Country by Sheila Norton

vets-at-hope-green-1

Today I’m reviewing a new release, out today!  I got a free digital copy of this book via NetGalley.  The Vets at Hope Green: part one – Escape to the Country is a short read and looks to be a lovely story but this is just part one of a four part series, here is my review.

I got a free copy of this book via NetGalley.

Sam dreams of being a vet and living the idyllic life in the country, but her life couldn’t be more different, working as a receptionist and living in busy London. When life gets too much after some stressful encounters with her boyfriend, Sam decides to take a trip to Hope Green, a place that’s just like her dream. But what will happen when she gets there and who will she meet?

‘The Vets at Hope Green’ is a lovely tale with a cosy feel to it. The book is split into four parts and this is just part one of those four. Part one is very short and didn’t take me long to read at all. The story follows Sam, after struggling to cope living in London, she ends up travelling to Hope Green, where her Nana lives, for a short holiday. The story is told in the first person from Sam’s point of view which I like as you see Sam’s thoughts on Hope Green and the people living there, her views being that of a city dweller which I can easily relate to.

Though this is just the first part of the story, you get an instant feel for the atmosphere of the place and the different people living in Hope Green. The characters seem well developed, though we’ve only been introduced to many of them, and I really like the awkward relationship between Sam and the vet Joe which will probably be the main feature of the entire four book series.

The story isn’t particularly exciting but I doubt it’s meant to be and it feels like there’s a predictability to how the tale will go but that doesn’t bother me at all as I often enjoy stories where reading the journey is more important than knowing the destination.

There’s nothing offensive in the book and it has an overall feel-good and cosy atmosphere to it. It does feel predictable but I’m still intrigued to read more. It’s very difficult to comment on whether this will turn out to be a great series or not, but given the good start I’m certainly looking forward to part two, though I would have personally preferred all the parts together in one book.

Rating: 4.5/5

Review published on Goodreads, click here

Author’s website: http://www.sheilanorton.com/

Book Description:

PART ONE of a heartwarming and inspiring story about living the simple life and the joy of animals. Perfect for fans of Appleby Farm, Ivy Lane and Alfie the Doorstep Cat

Working as a receptionist in a London vets, Sam is living far from her idea of a simple life. She’s always broke, rents a tiny flat and is constantly arguing with her boyfriend. But the worst part is that her career is going nowhere. She wants to be a vet, but the most contact time with the animals she has is a quick hello when she books in their next appointment.

Something’s got to give, so when her parents suggest visiting her Nana Peggy in a small quiet picturesque village, she agrees, thinking a bit of R&R could do her good.

But rest and relaxation may not be the order of the day. Poor Nana Peggy’s lovely dog Rufus is unwell, and Sam can’t help but grow fond of him. With the help of Joe the local vet, a charming yet strangely distant man, Sam sets out on looking after him, despite her London life trying to call her back…

Advertisements

12 thoughts on “Review: The Vets at Hope Green (Part One) – Escape to the Country by Sheila Norton

      1. Yes, When you feel what everyone around you feels being around large numbers of people can be difficult.The town I live in is just barely 5000 people so it’s small and there are some nice natural areas to go to, but even so some days I can’t go out. It’s just too much.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This reminds me of the James Herriot {sp ?} books. He wrote of his life as an English country veterinarian in pre and early WWII Britain. “All Creatures Great and Small’, ‘All Things Wise and Wonderful’, and ‘All Things Bright and Beautiful’.
    Good luck to Sheilas Hope Green Vets.
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading :D. Your spelling is correct :). And yes great book to compare it to, I’m guessing the other parts in the series are going to feature even more animals as well as the on-going story of the main characters :).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s