News

Happymeerkatreviews is One Today!!!!!

cake-35805_1280

On December 16th 2015 I officially opened this blog so today Happymeerkatreviews is officially 1 year old!!!!

It’s taken me a bit of time to get this celebration post out today but I’m hoping you’ll want to stick around and learn about all the new features that are on Happymerkatreviews.

So to start with, until about an hour ago today, the site featured a theme called Coraline.ย  Now the Coraline theme is one that I do love, and it served this site well but after a while I started to have problems with some of the little features on this blog and the Coraline theme has now been retired so it was time to select a new theme.ย  For those of you who don’t know what the Coraline theme looked like, here is a snapshot taken shortly before I changed the theme:

happymeerkatreviews-old

Look at that lovely meerkat brown! ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Well the new site features an almost identical colour but now has white background with black text boxes making it easier to read and with wider pages of text for those of you viewing on a PC/laptop browser.

Now please say hello to the new Button theme.ย  Please CLICK HERE to view the new site.ย  The site will open in a new tab so please click the link to see how the new site looks particularly if you are viewing in the wordpress browser of via an email notification.ย  I want to know what you think!ย  Take a look at how it looks and tell me honestly what you think.ย  If you are viewing on the wordpress app then open in a proper browser window as I don’t think it displays properly by clicking within the app.ย  And if you are viewing the mobile site please scroll down and click View full site to see the new theme (you can undo this option later).

so what’s new with the Button theme?…

happymeerkatreviews-new

Well you will see a lovely new static front page.ย  This Welcome page provides a cleaner look the whole site and hopefully helps load the site faster when people first visit.ย  Apart from the front page you might notice the new menus for fiction and non fiction books.ย  Rather than displaying a book at a time with the name of the title and author underneath there are menus featuring just images of the book covers which are clickable and lead you to the blog post of that book.ย  Books are also arranged into further sub-genres making it easier for browsing new titles…

books

As well as these menus I will also be adding a new author index shortly.ย  An index will make it easier for everyone to find books via their favourite author and it will be good to have a general book index of titles.

As well as new book menus you may have noticed that colouring books have disappeared from the menu.ย  Don’t worry!ย  This is a temporary feature as I’ll be moving colouring books onto a new blog featuring both colouring book reviews and random colouring and doodling work I’ve done!

The blog now appears in a cleaner and easier way.ย  Rather than displaying entire blog posts one after the other, a short excerpt of each post is displayed making it easier to scroll through a large number of posts to find one you are interested in…Go on try it out and see!!!

Along with a new About page and a newly revamped (and easier to understand) contact/request review pageย (Go on have a read of both!!) I’ve also added a new banner to the site and cleaned up the sidebar so it looks neater and features proper follow buttons and easy access toย current competition/giveaways…

follow-buttons

The last new feature I’ve added is a simple new Switch Site button.ย  I now officially have two blogs, this one which is my primary blog and features book reviews, poetry and other articles and things that I feel like writing about.ย  I also have a new blog for product reviews – basically anything and everything that isn’t a book can be found over on that site.ย  Soon Happymeerkatreviews Products will be joined by Happymeerkatreviews Colouring (British spelling!).

Now before anyone worries that I might be stretching myself too thin.ย  It’s okay.ย  I plan to run the products and colouring sites at a slower pace to this site and my book reviews site will always be my main site but I thought it would be nice to share other products and colouring on sites where I can really focus more on those things and perhaps some of you may want to follow them too! :).

You can access all Happymeerkatreviews sites via the Switch Site button which I thought looks fun! ๐Ÿ˜€

switch-site

So thank you for being patient and I hope you like the new theme!ย  Please let me know in the comments below what you think and be honest :).ย  I hope you’ll enjoy the new look and I’ll be sharing some exciting news very soon of what’s coming up in the new year!ย  I’ll be taking part in two blog tours in January, being part of a large event known as Mystery Thriller Week and as always I’ll be posting lots of bookish and other stuff!

Happymeerkatreviews is moving into a new phase.ย  A more professional look and feel!ย  I’ve decided to capitalise the H of the blog title and this blog really is seeing a lot of fame in the one year it’s been active!ย  Happymeerkatreviews is already quoted in three editorial reviews and posts from the site have been shared to facebook around 800 times in total(No idea about twitter as wordpress doesn’t show that!)!ย  I now have closing in on 700 followers (455 wordpress followers)ย counting all the twitter and faceboook people!ย  If all this has happened in a year…I can’t wait for next year and I hope you’ll want to join me too!

Don’t miss out on a chance to win a signed copy of Descriptions of Heaven by Randal Eldon Greene!ย  Happymeerkatreviews is quoted in the start of the book!ย  That alone should be enough reason for you to want to enter this competition!ย  At lease one free entry to everyone, internationally – so hurry only 15 days left to enter!!!


Please follow Happymeerkatreviews on Facebook

Please follow Happymeerkatreviews on Twitter

Please follow Happymeerkatreviews on Bloglovinโ€™

28 thoughts on “Happymeerkatreviews is One Today!!!!!

  1. Love the new look, I especially find the white background to be so much easier on the eyes. The clean front page looks very professional and great article pointing out all the new changes. ๐Ÿ™‚ Great job C.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I finally got to come online and see your post on fb and was in love… Happy Birthday my dear ๐Ÿ˜€ WIsh you many more happy writing years ahead ๐Ÿ™‚ Have lots of fun.

    Love
    Hema ๐Ÿ™‚
    PS. Beautiful theme,… Just like you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on your one year anniversary! ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s a great achievement as blogging takes time, reading and writing reviews take time, it can all be stressful, etc and to reach a year is a great achievement.

    While we don’t read the same books, I always enjoy reading your reviews, well written and thought out. ๐Ÿ™‚ And your poetry is always great to. ๐Ÿ™‚

    High praise for using the “button” theme, it’s quality and all the best blogs use it! Yeah, it’s the theme I use! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve always used it, changed my graphics at times but always kept the same theme as I think it looks nice and simple and it’s clean and uncluttered to and I also like the fact that it doesn’t show the whole post in the preview.

    Your new blog design looks really smart, are you pleased with it?

    Good luck with the product and colouring blogs to. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you :). Yay the Button theme! Amazing how our blogs can look different and yet feature the same theme ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes I really do like it :D! I think it looks more professional and I still get to keep that odd brown colour lol!!
      Your poetry is something I really enjoy reading too! I think our styles are slightly similar which is why I enjoy yours so much. And you’re right we don’t review the same books but I do love reading your reviews too, I enjoy long reviews that don’t have spoilers and I’ve written down a lot of titles that you’ve mentioned that are now on my tbr list :D!
      Thank you again for the kind words and the shares! I hope your blog has an equally happy blogiversary wnen you reach one year! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s true about the themes. Looks good though, nothing wrong with odd brown, I have weird crinkled white and black bits, lots seem to have bright and colourful colours for blogs but if you like it then that’s all that matters.๐Ÿ˜€

        Thanks, we do have a similar style of poetry, simple and rhyming but it’s cool, I struggle to write any more advanced forms but I think to myself why struggle when I can get my meaning across with how I write poetry and that’s what poetry is, expression of feelings.

        Yeah, I stay away from spoilers or try my best to and keep them to a minimum.

        Thanks, March is my blogs blogiversary so a while away yet. ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow thank you. I was going to email you but I’m struggling to get into my email at the moment (slow laptop connection today). I was going to say that if you wanted to add those reviews I did for Nicholas Rossis books that we discussed in the email then my site is fully functional and it should look good now :). Though I still have to add an author index which when I do will make it easier for you to see which authors I’ve reviewed and see if there are any others you know. And when I review more of his work should I also let you know or would you automatically know from my blog posts?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I too am woefully behind in all I should be doing with my blogs. Why don’t you send me a link to your index once you have it ready. In the meantime, I will post your review of Nicholas’s book. Thanks for that! And best of luck for the future of your blog.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. On a sidenote, I am honestly buggered by people correcting spelling of the word colour. Its annoying because computers do it, and colour is in my humble opinion not only correct, but taught as such in schools of English language!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I hate the American English. It’s not just he word colour, it’s aluminium spelt aluminum and all sorts of others that wordpress keeps flagging as spelt wrong. I thought when I selected GMT as my timezone it would let me use British spelling of things but it seems American English is being used everywhere :/

      Like

  5. Happy anniversary! I love what you did with the blog, I see all the changes as positive. I loved your previous theme as well, but watching my husband constantly work with UI/UX design, and remembering complaints about my blog, I know sometimes themes that have dark colors are hard to read on mobile, or just start having bugs after you use your blog for more than 10 times.
    The blog really really looks great and I cheer for its anniversary, and hope to be here for many many more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, I’m glad you like it. It’s one thing to like the theme of your blog yourself but it’s great to see that others like it too. For the record I haven’t had any problems viewing your site on my phone ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

