Book Reviews

Review: Colour Me In Cyanide & Cherries by Mirjana M. Inalman

I was kindly sent a free digital copy of this poetry book by the author.  It’s an amazing book of poetry and I urge everyone to see the author’s website for more of her great work, here is my review:

Beautifully deep and powerful, this book holds a large collection of poetry which will evoke the senses and touch your soul.

‘Colour me in Cyanide & Cherries’ is a book that’s taken me a long time to read, not because it is difficult, but because I wanted to enjoy every individual poem, and wow does this book have a lot. A book of 238 pages, with nearly all filled with wonderful and deep poetry. The book is split into sections: Anatomy of a Cherry, A Deck of Cards, with a different poem for each card, and A Taste of Cyanide.

Each poem in this collection is unique. Unlike other poetry I have read, I feel like I go on a journey every time I read this poet’s work. Though the length of each poem varies, most have more than one verse and some span a few pages making each and every poem an experience in itself.

Every poem is amazing and truly different from anything I’ve ever read before. The poetry is detailed, with such descriptions that can range from beautiful to something more haunting and sometimes a little disturbing. The images and feelings these poems create are so vivid that they really touch my soul. No matter which poem it is and how many times I re-read it I’m surprised how my mind is filled with such strong and deep imagery. It’s not something I’ve experienced to such a level with other poetry and it’s a really unique and wonderful experience. I love the way the poems are arranged in this book. Not only for their content but also the way different poems are presented on the page. I found myself enjoying all of them but if pushed to find favourites then I certainly enjoyed the poems in the Deck of Spades as well as ‘The Making of a Bread’ and ‘How do I tell you?’

Although I am certainly a fan of this poetry it isn’t simple rhyming lines which others may write. If you are looking for something simple then this may not be the book for you, however if you are looking for an experience which will touch the mind and soul then I can recommend this book.

Rating: 5/5

Review published on Goodreads, click here

Author’s website: https://olorielmoonshadow.wordpress.com/

Book Description:

A collection of eclectic poetry, a gumbo of metaphors, omens and emotions, “Colour Me In Cyanide & Cherries” gives an insight into what red and blue do in the darkness of the night, morning and soul.

7 thoughts on “Review: Colour Me In Cyanide & Cherries by Mirjana M. Inalman

  1. Thank you very much for reviewing my book ❤ I am very happy that you liked it and I am very happy that you enjoyed reading it.
    I also find it really nice to hear which were your favourites, and especially "The Making of a Bread", because it is a poem inspired by my grandmother, and knowing emotion I tried to capture with it is felt, is just really precious to me.
    Thank you very much once more!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

