Book Reviews

Review: Our Very Own Dog by Amanda McCardie & Salvatore Rubbino

our-very-own-dog

I was kindly sent a free hardback copy of this book by the publisher Walker Books for a review.  ‘Our Very Own Dog’ is written and illustrated by the same people as ‘A Book of Feelings’, which I’ve also reviewed.  It’s a children’s picture book, here is my review:

One day a dog called Sophie was adopted by a family, changing their lives forever…

This is a hardback book with lovely thick, glossy colourful pages inside. There is a story about the dog called Sophie that joins a family when a girl is four years old. We never know the name of the young girl and the book is told from her point of view. As we learn about what it was like when Sophie was first adopted and learned to settle in, we are given basic information on dog care. The book starts off explaining how the family had everything ready for Sophie such as a bed, food bowls, chew toy, etc. While the main story reads in large text, there are smaller areas of text (which should be read after the large text) explaining why some things are needed or happen, such as the why a dog needs a chew toy.

dog1

The book is filled with lovely images which look like watercolour. This book looks just like ‘A Book of Feelings’, also by Amanda McCardie and illustrated by the same Salvatore Rubbino. I like these images, they are different and while not overly detailed there’s more than enough to see in each picture.

While the story is a simple one and fun, this book feels more like an information rather than story based book. The little text info bits that appear on each page, while interesting they feel more like a booklet of facts. In fact the ending of a book talks about what you should do and look for when planning to adopt. Despite saying this I actually don’t mind and the ending of the actual story is a happy and feel good one.

dog2

Overall though I like this book. It’s a great introduction to dogs especially if the family plans to get one. It can help teach kids what to do or rather not do around a new dog and can help kids understand how to act around dogs, such as never trying to pet an unknown dog without permission, even if the family doesn’t plan to get one. As someone who had a bad experience with a dog as a child and am still a little nervous around them, I really see the value in this book, plus the story has a fun ending too.

dog3

Rating: 5/5

Review published on Goodreads, click here

Book Blurb:

Sophie was living at a dogs’ home until she found her own home – with us.

Come and meet this friendly little dog as she settles into her new family.

7 thoughts on “Review: Our Very Own Dog by Amanda McCardie & Salvatore Rubbino

    1. Oh I’m sorry to hear that :(. I had a dog stay with us overnight when I was really young, about 6 and the dog was so big at the time (and untrained) it scared me, kept jumping on me and nearly pushed me over. I think that’s why I myself get nervous about dogs. I hope your own experience hasn’t put you off all dogs though. Well behaved and trained dogs wouldn’t never bite anyone…. I say that but I’m still nervous stroking one :/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

