Book Reviews

Review: We Found A Hat by Jon Klassen

we-found-a-hat

I was kindly sent a free copy of this hardback book by the publisher Walker Books for a review.  We Found A Hat is a fun kids book which really made me smile.  Here is my review:

There are two turtles who have found a hat. But there are two of them and only one hat.

This book is so simple yet I love it so much. It’s the third in a series of ‘hat’ books by Klassen but I didn’t know this and it is a good book to read on its own. An A4 size hardback with matt but thick pages inside this has such a simple and easy story to follow with a lovely ending. The tale is a simple one, there are two turtles who live in a desert, together they find one hat that looks good on both of them, but there are two of them and only one hat so what will they do?

hat1

The images are what caught my attention with this book right away. They look like sponge/potato printed shapes with a few lines drawn to make the pictures more detailed. None of the images is overly complicated and it’s amazing how such a simple image can convey so much, especially the eyes of the turtles.

hat2

The book is divided into three parts which I felt is unnecessary given how short the book is to read. The story is so simple and yet quite funny, it did put a smile on my face when reading it. The reason I really like this book though isn’t just the images but the clever ending. There’s a moral to the story against being selfish but this is quite subtle and I didn’t know what was going to happen at the end of the story so I was pleasantly surprised.

hat3
The hardback cover is as matt as the inner pages and although the whole look of the book is very simple I think many kids will enjoy reading this and looking at the pictures. In fact the pictures are able to tell the story without the words which I love too.

Rating: 5/5

Review published on Goodreads, click here

Book description (found on amazon):

Hold on to your hats! From the Kate Greenaway-winning creator of I Want My Hat Back and This Is Not My Hat comes the much-anticipated conclusion to the celebrated hat trilogy.

Two turtles have found a hat. The hat looks good on both of them. But there are two turtles. And there is only one hat… Evoking hilarity and sympathy, the shifting eyes tell the tale in this perfectly paced story in three parts, highlighting Jon Klassen’s visual comedy, deceptive simplicity and deliciously deadpan humour..

Leave a Reply

