Book Reviews

Review: The Sentinels (Book One) – Fire Sorcerer by David J. Normoyle

fire-sorcerer

I was kindly sent a free digital copy of this book by the author David J Normoyle for a review.  ‘Fire Sorcerer’ is a YA fantasy and the first in ‘The Sentinels’ series.  It is also a new release and just out today!  Here is my review:

In a world where shades (supernatural beings) exist among humans, Rune Russell’s learned to keep his powers hidden, things don’t exactly go according to plan when he uses them anyway.  But when his friends’ lives are put in danger he must release what’s inside him…And face the consequences.

‘Fire Sorcerer’ is the first book in ‘The Sentinels’ series.  Set in the fictional city of Lusteer this YA urban fantasy novel is an exciting read.  The whole book is in the first person perspective and is very fast paced.  Each chapter has a date and time and the whole story takes place over the course of just four days.  Having each chapter act as one scene really makes the action move fast and I’m surprised how compelled I was to keep reading this book.

I wasn’t sure I was going to like this when I started reading it.  Having read ‘The Silver Portal’ by Normoyle, and perhaps being a little spoiled by that novel, I felt this book was a little slow to start.  I didn’t connect with all the characters right away and their living situation seemed a bit weird at first, but the book really picked up the pace and I warmed more to the characters after reading past chapter 4.

The story itself is a good one although a few of the action sequences, particularly the fights later on didn’t feel as dramatic or urgent as I think they were intended.  I’m not sure why this was but it’s the only time I felt that the first person perspective worked against the action.  However this really was a minor niggle for me and despite this I still couldn’t help but be sucked in to keep reading.

The ending is a good and satisfying one and although this is book one of the series, it does feel like a stand alone novel, without a cliff-hanger ending (like in ‘The Silver Portal’) which I prefer in books, although of course there are enough loose ends that lead well into a future second book.  The novel has a couple of uses of the s swear word and use of the b words but no sex and there are fights and some blood spilling but nothing really gory so this would be great for all teens and older.

Overall I really enjoyed this book.  I couldn’t put it down and read it all in a day, that’s how compelling it is!  I’d recommend it to anyone who enjoys fantasy stories in a modern day setting and for those who enjoy a fast paced story.  I’m looking forward to book two in the series.

Rating: 4.5/5

Review published on Goodreads, click here

Author’s website:  http://davidjnormoyle.com

Book Description:

My name is Rune, and if I’ve learned one thing, it’s not to play with fire. Magical or otherwise.

The first time I used my power, I ended up burning down a mansion. The second time, an inter-dimensional elemental possessed my friend Jo. Now, with a sorcerer and a gang of werebeasts helping the elemental which is consuming Jo’s soul, I’ll have to use my magic once more.

Third time’s the charm, right?

2 thoughts on “Review: The Sentinels (Book One) – Fire Sorcerer by David J. Normoyle

Leave a Reply

