Articles & Discussions · Random Fun Stuff

Why Blog? Can it Save Your Life?

Okay, for those of you who have seen this post before and actually read the whole post on My Trending Stories go ahead and skip this, because this is a simple repeat.  However I’m having a few issues with MTS these days and although I love the fact the platform’s given me the chance to grow, I’m also afraid it will one day just disappear along with all my hours of work.  Soooo rather than lose my work I thought I’d actually blog my articles from there from now on.  Who cares if it’s off topic, it’s worth a read if you’re bored.

So if you want to comment than DO!!!  Let me know what you think, and be nice, this was very personal…

Why blog?  can it save your life?

fe5be011-d2b6-475a-bed5-585ab5ba909c

Why do people start blogging? And what do they get out of the experience? Everyone will give you a different answer, from having a voice to being part of a community. But what if the simple act of writing some blog posts could do more than just be an outlet for someone’s opinions? More than entertain those who read it? What if blogging gave back someone’s life?

There are many different reasons to start blogging, mine wasn’t even to start a blog. I’d been through a horrible time in my life, had to move home quickly after going through a traumatic event and my whole life was a mess. I was a mess. With depression and anxiety eating away at me I cared little about myself or my life. I started writing reviews on Amazon UK, it was out of boredom more than anything else and as I wrote, I could forget, for a time, what had happened. After a while I created my website as a place to put a copy of all the reviews I’d written, in case they were ever lost or deleted. I never expected someone to visit the site and i didn’t even know what a blog was (compared to a website) or even how to do it!

Of course like most people I eventually tried my hand at posting something. My first blog posts were nothing but me talking to myself about finishing my website, but after a few bad attempts I tried posting something that I wanted people to know, nothing more than recommending a book I’d read on depression. Instantly people ‘liked’ and ‘followed’ me. It was a bizarre feeling. Somebody out there wanted to read my words…My words, the words of somebody insignificant, somebody who barely cared for her own life.

I tried posting another book recommendation/review, yet more ‘likes’ and ‘follows’. And this time I even got talking to somebody about the books and my review. This person became a good online friend and to this day we keep in touch. These new friends and the mere fact my blog posts were even noticed was an instant boost to my own self confidence. I had been so depressed, felt so useless, now that people were liking and even talking to me about my reviews I felt like a spark of me had returned. I was smiling more in those few first weeks than I had done the whole year before.

After some time of reviewing random things I felt a love of books return. I’d always loved reading books but had stopped reading more than a handful a year since the trauma. People enjoyed my reviews and though I didn’t know it yet, something else was brewing inside me. Through blogging about books, and the more life went on, the more set I’ve been in book blogging/reviewing, I’ve met so many book lovers and a LOT of writers. I learned about this whole community of indie authors and have been amazed just how many proffesionally written and professionally looking books there are. I had no idea the indie community was so big.

All these people whether readers, writers or well anyone helped me gain confidence in myself. For the first time since years ago I even started writing poetry which was very well received! All this was still odd to me, it felt so alien, so strange to have people say kind words, praise my work. I’ll tell you why…

My confidence in my own writing ability had been shattered since high school. The teachers themselves telling me I was no good. So bad was their criticism that a piece of me died in that school. The fun loving girl who had been shy but confident in her own creativity, the girl who had written stories, poems and even plays since she was young had disappeared. She had crawled into a tiny hole in my soul and I thought she was gone forever. I thought I would never write another thing again. I thought everything I wrote was rubbish, stupid, that people would laugh at and not be touched by my words. But that’s not the case anymore.

Through meeting a community of like minded people, being given compliments about my writing and talking to many authors who have become friends, I’ve found that part of me I thought was lost forever. Apart from the reviews which I still write to this day I gained the confidence to write poetry, and not any poetry but tough and dark poems, ones from my soul. And now something else has happened, a new (or maybe that should be old) love has come. A love and desire to write fiction, something which I did long before I wrote poems and something which I’ve been afraid to ever do since my teens. But I’m not afraid anymore, at least I’m not afraid of trying. Whether what I write sounds good or reads like gobbledigook, it doesn’t matter. The point is I am now doing it, I now have that confidence back.

So although I still wonder why so many people enjoy my writing, I’m truly amazed and surprised every time somebody compliments it (perhaps my confidence is still not all there), I am writing, creatively, because it’s something I want to do, something I’ve always wanted to do and something I never would have done had I not met some amazing people. And I never would have met them without starting a blog. So when asked why did I start blogging, the answer is a simple one, because I wanted to share a book I enjoyed with others out there. When asked what do I get out of blogging, the answer is simple: I got my life back.

So why do you blog?  Has it helped you connect with a part of yourself?  Let me know 🙂

(article originally published on My Trending Stories)

14 thoughts on “Why Blog? Can it Save Your Life?

  1. I’ve been writing since I was a kid. I have kept a personal journal since age 8. I stumbled into the blogging community three years ago as a place to put down all the stories in my head. Since then, I have had such a great time here on WordPress. I love reading other people’s blogs and I love the safe place this blogging community offeres me. Thanks for writing this post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your comment. when I first wrote this post I wasn’t sure if people would take it well or laugh at me, it’s so reassuring to have such support in this community everyday and I hope we all continue to help support each other 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a GREAT post! Blogging started out as a random ‘trying a new hobby’ kind of thing for me. But I soon noticed it became a lot more than that as well. The community is really supportive and great at boosting your self-confidence. It’s like a free therapy group without all the lame shit! xD Expressing myself here also contributes to lowering my anxiety levels and the whole having a purpose each day (apart from the no fun brainless and trivial daily activities) lifted a cloud of depression as well here. I love it ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, whoops maybe I shouldn’t use the letters. I actually tried chatting about happymeerkatreviews to someone on facebook earlier as HMR and then looked back at it and thought…her majesty’s revenue, lol
      Thank you again for the compliment on my post 😀 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

