News

Blogger Recognition Award

So, this is the first of these blogger awards I’ve been given recently -Not counting the recent #ComedyBookWeek one ;).  Whether you enjoy these or not I think you’ll agree it’s a great way to get to know each other and that’s why I’ve decided to accept them.  That and you guys are amazing for the nominations! 🙂blogger recognition award

Thank you so much to Benjamin from Project Believe in Yourself for nominating me for this award, I’m not sure if anyone else nominated me for this particular award, if you did then I’m so sorry my mind’s gone blank and silly me didn’t save the links so big apologies if I missed someone out!  Anyway, this award has rules but I’m going to bend them at the end if nobody minds :o!  The rules are simple:

  • Write a post to show the award
  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • Briefly describe your journey as a blogger
  • Give advice to new bloggers
  • Nominate the deserving ones

Now I know some people don’t accept blogger awards and I myself was reluctant at first but this particular award allows me to give out some advice and I think it’s a nice way of getting to know each other.  So here goes:

My journey as a blogger began late November 2015 with my first real post.  Before then I’d posted stuff but hadn’t learned the importance of ‘tags’.  When I started my blog I didn’t have any idea how many wonderful people I would meet and how well received my writing was.  I thought I’d try blogging after putting my amazon reviews here on this website and thought I’d only get the odd random visitor via a search engine but the response to this date has been overwhelming.  Through blogging book reviews I grew more and more confident in both my reviewing ability and my own voice.  It was a wonderful surprise that anyone enjoyed reading my reviews but people also loved reading whatever I wrote about and as my confidence has grown I’ve gone into posting poetry too.  Through this blog and everyone’s kind support I’ve grown from this horribly shy individual who had nothing going for her, since suffering a bad event in my life, to somebody who finds joy and happiness from reading, writing, reviewing and talking to everyone in the blogosphere.  I feel like I’ve found a calling being around so many kind, warm and great people and especially with the author, book blogging community I feel like I’ve found true friends and have gained the confidence to start writing even fiction again.  It’s all because of you guys who read my posts and follow my blog.  Without you I wouldn’t be the person and blogger am so I want to thank you al while talking about my journey as a blogger because YOU are the one who have made me who I am now and I am truly grateful for each and every one of you :).  Well that was a ‘brief’ explanation of my journey as a blogger (I covered this in more detail in yesterday’s post).

My advice to new bloggers is this.  Firstly don’t be afraid of posting what matters to you.  Blogging is the opportunity to be who you are and say what you really want to say so never be afraid of saying anything even if it leaves you a little vulnerable.  People will see that truth and honesty and love you for it :).

Secondly I’d say that to grow your following you should not only blog yourself but visit other blogs.  Use the reader and type in a tag and see what other posts come up.  Commenting and liking and even following other bloggers will increase interest in your blog and you’ll also make great friends.

Thirdly post whenever you want.  Some bloggers follow a schedule and post very often and others post only occasionally and when they feel like it.  It’s better to have something great to say than empty words, and if you are struggling with what to say visit the daily post webpage for prompts and stuff!  I do!

Fourth and finally, don’t forget the importance of TAGS!!!!  I struggled to get anyone to see my posts and you just won’t unless you add all important tags.  Tags are keywords that describe what your post is about so if you’re writing about book put in ‘book, novel, fiction, fantasy, etc’ whatever your post  about :).

Nominating other bloggers!  Well this is where I am going to play this award differently.  I think every single person who follows my blog deserves this.  Your support in following is enough to earn you this award and it’s my way of saying thank you.  So if any of you want to do this award just say that I gave it to you.  You are all amazing and thank you so much for supporting me!

10 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

