Book Reviews

#ComedyBookWeek Review: Shizzle Inc by Ana Spoke

humor_book

shizzle inc

So let’s kick of #ComedyBookWeek with my first review ‘Shizzle Inc’ by Ana Spoke.  Now available  for free (and I downloaded for free), here is my review:

Fresh out of college, broke and recently dumped, Isa Maxwell’s solution to all her problems is to become famous. When she manages to get a job working for billionaire owner of Shizzle Inc, by pure accident and her own brand of luck, Isa realises that nothing is what it seems and what follows is a hilarious comedy of errors.

Shizzle Inc is a great book with farce written all over it. It reminds me of tv shows like Ugly Betty and Jane the Virgin with the unbelievable and silly situations the main character Isa gets herself into. The story took a bit of time to get into and I have to admit I was worried I wasn’t going to like it as I just didn’t find it funny at first, but the further I read into the book the funnier it became.

The book is written in the first person perspective, Isa’s, and this works out very well and makes the story much funnier as her knowledge of things is very limited and she says and thinks daft things. The story itself is very well written and I particularly liked Mr Hue’s character and the ridiculous number of different Shizzle items and ventures he comes up with.

The book is funny but I didn’t find myself laughing out loud as much as I thought I would.  It did seem that the further I read into the book though the more funny it became and despite the slow start for me, I found myself laughing aloud at some of the silly things towards the end especially a particular badly worded prayer (I don’t want to reveal any spoilers so I’ll just leave it at that).  The story has a good conclusion but at the same time it’s also left in a slight cliff-hanger that you really have to read the next instalment to see what happens to Isa.

The book has some swearing in it, use of the f word as well as milder, but this isn’t very frequent. There’s also brief mention of sex but nothing that teens would be shocked to read.  Some characters also smoke some drugs.

Overall this is a great story and definitely finishes better than it starts. I can’t wait to read the next book ‘Indiot’ which happens to be out today!

Rating: 5/5

Review published on Goodreads, click here

Author’s website: https://anaspoke.com/

Book Description:

 Fifteen minutes of fame is all Isa Maxwell needs to solve her financial woes and win back Brad, the love of her life.

Thanks to her clumsiness, street smarts, and an unbelievable bit of luck, Isa lands her dream job, becoming the protege of Mr. Hue, the playboy billionaire owner of Shizzle, Inc. She even gets a number of new love interests, but all is not what it seems. In fact, absolutely nothing is what it seems.

Can Isa survive the tough world of corporate intrigue and constant looming bodily harm? Or will her efforts be the end of Shizzle, Inc and possibly her life?

My next #ComedyBookWeek review will be posted on the 18th, until then check out the #ComedyBookWeek website to see what else is happening throughout the week!

6 thoughts on “#ComedyBookWeek Review: Shizzle Inc by Ana Spoke

Leave a Reply

