Articles & Discussions · News

UK Votes out of the EU did we do the right thing?

So, I’m putting myself out there, I hope nobody will be offended by this article.  This is my first real news article and I’d love some feedback so please do click on the link and tell me what you think.  I’m very nervous as I’ve put a lot of personal info into the article and if you want to comment about it please do either on My Trending Stories or here, or on facebook.

UK Votes to leave the EU: Did We Do the Right Thing?

A discussion on intolerant attitude to immigration

15 thoughts on “UK Votes out of the EU did we do the right thing?

  1. Thanks for sharing your story. I think it’s important for people to read. My grandfather was born in the U.S. to Polish immigrants and although he was American by birth and spoke perfect English without an accent he suffered from a lot of bigotry and felt that he needed to “americanize” is name, not only for his own career, but also for the sake of his children. He was married and had two children when he changed his (and the family’s) last name. That was around 1946. It’s hard to believe that in either of our countries, people still face this kind of bigotry and hatred because of the sound of their name. I’m sorry that you have to go through that pain.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words. It’s amazing that even with a completely western accent your grandfather faced the same problems. People shouldn’t have to change their names to feel they belong. And I thought the Americans wouldn’t have such issues with the polish. Sorry your family had to have a name change but I can understand it now.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So well written! I have shared it on Facebook as I felt it is something my friends ought to read. I have noticed with increasing dismay the intolerance and general nastiness everywhere. I am so sorry you and your family are suffering and I wish I could do something about it.
    I find these peoples’ attitudes vaguely amusing because I doubt if anyone in this country can honestly say that, looking back through their family trees, they are pure British people. We all have foreign blood in our veins. There are no indigenous people left here! Take heart my dear; you have friends and supporters and you are not alone (though it must feel like it a lot of the time).
    Clare

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words and thank you so much for sharing the story on facebook :). I’m so glad others can read about it. It’s true even though I have eastern European roots in mainly Poland I’m told that there are other eastern European countries that further down my family tree people come from as well as the possibility of some Mongolian blood :o!? – it’s a rumour but very possible as it’s quite a few generations back. I’m sure everyone can trace if you look back further some other blood in their family tree :). And Britain often prides itself on being a multicultural and diverse country so this ‘new’ growing attitude of intolerance is both upsetting and shocking in this day and age.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is shocking. Society seems to have become cruel and selfish too; not that some people haven’t always been cruel and selfish but these days it is almost ‘acceptable’ to show these traits. Have you noticed how cruel some advertisements are?

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Yes, you’d think we would be advancing and moving into a society which has more tolerance of differences not less. I’ve even seen news stories just recently of hate mail being posted into the letter boxes of polish migrants here. It’s a scary world we’re moving into 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It is very scary and I’m not sure why or how we have got like this. I would say that most people are tolerant of differences but the intolerant have loud voices and some weak people are easily swayed.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

