Book Reviews

Very Fun Colour by Shading: Animal Querkles

querkles

While I was going to have a fiction book review for you today, I’m having a hard time retrieving my word file 😮 !  I will get that review to you as soon as possible, though tomorrow I’m off to the hospital again for more treatment on my eye (and feeling anxious about it).  So in the meantime I thought I’d give you another colouring book review.  I bought this book to cheer myself up after my last visit to the hospital, it’s very fun and different.  Here is my review:

Querkles is so fun! This book is A3 in size! So make sure you have enough space on a table or your lap before you start.

The idea of querkles is that it’s similar to colour by numbers or rather shading by numbers. Every picture in this book is printed on just one side and the pages are very thick and crisp white so pens will work, in fact it’s advised to use pens, although I’ve used pencils on my pictures. Each design is made up of lots of circles of different sizes drawn on top of each other. The idea is to shade in the numbered shapes but because of every shape being made up of different overlapping circles, it’s hard to (if not impossible) to make out what the finished picture will be. This is great for me as so may colour by numbers are so simple that it’s usually too easy to know what the solution is before you even start.

querkles1

Rather than a number that represents a colour, each number represents a shade. Number 1 should be shaded in the darkest, number 2 a little lighter, and so on until number 5 which should be shaded the lightest. There are two methods to shading and they’re both explained in the start of the book. One is to shade with the same pen colour but using cross hatching techniques and the other is to use different colour shades which is what I’ve done.

The pictures that come out all (so far for me) seem to be animal portraits, but it’s amazing to see the finished picture especially as they all look so realistic, almost like a photograph that’s been altered to give it an artistic edge. Each page is perforated too which means you can take it out and keep it separately or maybe even hang it up!

querkles2

I really love this book, I’ve already done 3 designs already and spent quite a bit of time on each, so I think it’s worth the money. All the finished querkle design solutions can be found in the back and I also love the fact that this book is dedicated to a dog! I really recommend this to anyone who love colouring, particularly colour by number puzzles and who wants a real challenge!:)

My finished picture is of the first querkles picture in this book, which appears on the front cover so no spoilers to the other images:)

querkles3

For links to Amazon UK, (US coming shortly) please click here (opens in a new tab)

10 thoughts on “Very Fun Colour by Shading: Animal Querkles

Leave a Reply

