News

Happiness 101 Simple Things Challenge

I was challenged a few days ago by Vicki from The Page Turner to take part in the Happiness 101 Simple Things Challenge.  Please go visit her blog, it’s a great blog and she’s a great person.

This challenge is a chance to list down and share with you 101 simple things that make me happy.  The idea comes from ScaleSimple.

The rules are (simple):

  • Write 101 simple things that make you happy
  • Tag 5 Bloggers who you would like to invite to take part in the challenge
  • Mention ScaleSimple in your post

So here is my list:

  1. Happiness is…spending time with my family.
  2. Happiness is…a warm (but not hot) sunny day.
  3. Happiness is…writing
  4. Happiness is…reading
  5. Happiness is…the smell of a brand new book – nothing beats a hard copy of a book 🙂
  6. Happiness is…blogging
  7. Happiness is…meeting great people through my blog
  8. Happiness is…having good friends
  9. Happiness is…people liking my blog entries/reviews – I had terrible self confidence when I started reviewing, writing poetry, and my blog in general
  10. Happiness is…taking a walk in nature
  11. Happiness is…cats! – I love animals in general but I’m definitely a cat lover 🙂
  12. Happiness is…YouTube cat videos – yeah I’m one of those millions of fans
  13. Happiness is…laughing – if I really find something funny I laugh so much I can cry!
  14. Happiness is…Friends – the TV show always cheers me up (and I can recite almost every episode :o)
  15. Happiness is…a hug
  16. Happiness is…helping people
  17. Happiness is…being appreciated
  18. Happiness is…being happy with myself
  19. Happiness is…writing reviews – I really love it and especially if someone finds it helpful
  20. Happiness is…the smell of coffee – I don’t drink it but I love the smell!
  21. Happiness is…a good cup of tea
  22. Happiness is…colouring
  23. Happiness is…doodling/drawing
  24. Happiness is…reading/hearing a good joke
  25. Happiness is…meditating
  26. Happiness is…exercising
  27. Happiness is…cooking
  28. Happiness is…baking
  29. Happiness is…crafting – I like paper crafts mainly and sewing
  30. Happiness is…getting a new book
  31. Happiness is…going to a book shop
  32. Happiness is…cuddly toys
  33. Happiness is…visiting new places
  34. Happiness is…learning history – my favourite subject
  35. Happiness is…playing board games
  36. Happiness is…playing with toys – I can still enjoy myself with lots of kids toys including Lego 🙂
  37. Happiness is…listening to music
  38. Happiness is.. buying and finding new clothes that fit – as someone who spent their whole teen and early adulthood overweight I’m happy that clothes fit me better these days, they never did before :o!
  39. Happiness is…the smell of freshly baked bread
  40. Happiness is…the smell of freshly baked biscuits or cake
  41. Happiness is…cake
  42. Happiness is…strawberries
  43. Happiness is…the smell of hot chocolate
  44. Happiness is…baby animals
  45. Happiness is…feeding the ducks
  46. Happiness is…taking photos of animals
  47. Happiness is…taking photos of historical places
  48. Happiness is…taking photos of nature – maybe photography in general, lol
  49. Happiness is…completing all kinds of crossword puzzles
  50. Happiness is…learning a new word
  51. Happiness is…learning and understanding new foreign words
  52. Happiness is…crystals and stones – I’m fascinated by all kinds of stones and can spend hours just staring at them
  53. Happiness is…inventing a new story
  54. Happiness is…daydreaming
  55. Happiness is…someone smiling at me
  56. Happiness is…playing video/ computer games – my first console was a mega drive and I’m still a gamer 🙂
  57. Happiness is…completing a video/computer game – there’s a bizarre sense of achievement when completing these games
  58. Happiness is..stuff with cute animals – notepads, pens, mugs, etc
  59. Happiness is…stuff with cats – notepads, pens, mugs, etc (do I sound like a crazy cat lady now? 😮 )
  60. Happiness is…anything miniature – I really don’t know why!
  61. Happiness is…filming with a video camera – I used to fancy myself a filmmaker 🙂
  62. Happiness is…visiting castles and other historical places
  63. Happiness is…Celtic patterns – ever since I’ve discovered them I’m mesmerized (maybe I lived a past life as a Celt?)
  64. Happiness is…ancient Egyptian pictures/patterns – I think I lived a past life in ancient Egypt too!
  65. Happiness is…spooky Halloween/paranormal type stuff
  66. Happiness is…a nice and long hot bath
  67. Happiness is…feeling clean – OCD thinking there
  68. Happiness is…being healthy
  69. Happiness is…watching chicks hatch and fledge – maybe watching Springwatch influenced that one 🙂
  70. Happiness is…meeting like minded people
  71. Happiness is…no queue at the shops
  72. Happiness is…a friendly cashier
  73. Happiness is…finding extra change lying around – I never turn my nose up at the odd penny I see
  74. Happiness is…a nice comfy bed
  75. Happiness is…a cat’s purr
  76. Happiness is…pasta  – it’s the one food I never tire of
  77. Happiness is…scented candles
  78. Happiness is…loosing myself in an amazing book
  79. Happiness is…singing
  80. Happiness is…looking at old photographs
  81. Happiness is…the smell of beautiful flowers
  82. Happiness is…being in a beautiful garden
  83. Happiness is…waking up after a good dream
  84. Happiness is…salad – I love my salads :D!
  85. Happiness is…watching good magic tricks
  86. Happiness is…doing magic tricks – I only know a few basic ones but I’ve always enjoyed performing magic!
  87. Happiness is…inspirational quotes
  88. Happiness is…feeling confident – I spent most of my life the opposite
  89. Happiness is…Christmas – it’s a magical holiday I love celebrating every year, making decorations, gifts, I like the whole magical glitteriness of it!
  90. Happiness is…my birthday – I think we should all celebrate that we exist :)!
  91. Happiness is…doing yoga
  92. Happiness is…learning something new
  93. Happiness is…unwrapping presents – I’m like a cat, the paper is more important than what’s inside, lol
  94. Happiness is…wrapping presents – I can wrap them really well and add frilly bows, cute tags,etc.
  95. Happiness is…giving gifts
  96. Happiness is…true silence – I live in the city/suburbs so this is something I often crave
  97. Happiness is…natural sounds – sometimes a natural sound is a car or lawn mower so I sometimes have to resort to tapes to hear nature!
  98. Happiness is…talking to my mum
  99. Happiness is…looking at pretty/beautiful art
  100. Happiness is…thought provoking shows/films/books and discussing with friends
  101. Happiness is…waking up in a good mood

Well at first I didn’t think I could come up with 101 things but now I’m on a roll and could list even more!  The great thing about this challenge is that by listing all these things it makes you feel happy and in turn it’s a list that you can refer to whenever you feel down, I’ll certainly be keeping this list to hand :).

So, now the 5 bloggers I’m going to tag.  Well, firstly if  some of you don’t want to take part that’s fine, no pressure to :).  I see the tagging more as an opportunity to show others some of the great blogs I follow! 🙂

Actually I think absolutely anyone should do this challenge whether you’ve been tagged or not :D!  I’m going to randomly pick out 5 bloggers I follow, I have many blogs I follow, so this is completely random and if you have time please visit their blogs anyway as they are all great! 🙂

suzanne rogerson fantasy author

Element

Color me in Cyanide and Cherry

This is my life!

A Suffolk Lane

So I hope you had fun reading my list and if you get the chance check out these amazing blogs.  Have a happy day everyone! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Happiness 101 Simple Things Challenge

  1. Wonderful list dear. Though it seems a daunting task to list them all done, you make it sound like fun. I am a little caught up with things, but surely will try to take it up soon. Thanks for the nomination.
    Lots of love and best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There are so many things on your list that make me happy as well. Funny that you like the smell of coffee but not drinking it, just like me. I wonder if that is a common thing! Thanks for nominating me, I think it would be a fun challenge to take part in at some point soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anytime you feel like doing the challenge you can, no pressure at all :). I think it’s a fun thing to do, it certainly took some time for me to think of 101 things! Yep, I’m definitely a tea but not coffee drinker 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a really lovely idea and your list is full of good things. Thank-you very much for nominating me. I don’t usually accept nominations though I will try to compile a list for you – it may take me some time! I hope you will excuse me for not nominating any other bloggers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You can take your time with this if you want to do it, I took a long time to do my list :). Don’t worry about not tagging any bloggers, I don’t really like to nominate people either, I just see it as a great way to let others know of some of the great blogs I follow, including yours 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You list some really nice stuff that help me daily, like smell of old books!
    Thank you very much for nominating me, I will try to do you justice, thinking now, it feels hard to find 101 things that REALLY make me happy. I have a lot of brainstorming to do!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought it would be hard and got stuck after about 20 things, but at some point I think you manage to come up with the list. It’s just the simple things that make us happy. I’m glad you’re giving it a go but don’t forget to have fun with it 🙂 Good luck

      Like

Leave a Reply

