Poetry

Daily Prompt: Scars of Depression

So, although it seems to be a nice 1st May and I have lots to celebrate with 100 followers to my blog, I’m going to depress you all now with some poetry.  Don’t blame me though, blame the people at the Daily Prompt Challenge for coming up with the theme: Scars.  Enjoy, or not… 🙂

Scars of Depression

I laugh, I smile, I am happy. You see me I am there.

Every day I act so pleasant. I live without a care.

The sun shines down, birds chirp outside. The world is at ease.

It cannot know what’s deep inside. This soul destroying disease.

Present or past it does not matter. I must keep my guard.

I cannot show the truth inside. The truth of being scarred.

Wounds open, run so deep. The pain, too much to bear.

But the world will never know, how I live without a care.

13 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Scars of Depression

  1. Your poem is very pretty and sad. It is also true and scary. Quite often nobody is aware of how desperately sad anyone is until it’s too late to do anything about it. I hope this is not a piece from personal experience. I’ve been to that dark place. I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Unfortunately I have been to the dark places during my depression. It is a truly horrible place as you are your own worst enemy. But thankfully I have pulled myself out of that and don’t wish to ever go back to that dark place and I do my best not to. Your posts and others on wordpress really do help, it’s a wonderful community here :).

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I think it’s great that you’re articulating your feelings poetically. I don’t know about you, but it tends to be very cathartic for me. Keep on writing, my friend! 🙂

    The subject matter may be depressing, but I do hope you feel a bit lighter upon writing that piece.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It is cathartic for me too :). Thank you. I did feel better after writing it. I hope all is well with you, not sure if you got my email? If you did don’t worry about what I wrote, I’m sure things will resolve themselves with time and if they don’t: oh well lol, I’m feeling better today either way. Though not sure if I’ll be publishing that review.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

